I am editing Settings.StyleCop in the installation directory by dragging and dropping it onto the StyleCopSettingsEditor executable found in the same directory. My understanding is that all StyleCop settings will use this for a basis unless explicitly told
The first time editing the rules, everything seems fine - I go in, check, uncheck, and save. Opening Settings.StyleCop with a text editor shows my rules have been saved correctly.
My problem occurs when editing the rules a second time. I drag and drop the file onto the executable same as the first time. I can view the settings and they are as I had set them. However, if I add or remove a rule, all my previous settings are lost. Opening
Settings.StyleCop with a text editor shows the file only contains the rules I changed.
Is this behavior expected?